About us

Serving our membership since 1980

Credit Union History

In November of 1980 a small group of motivated employees met in the Town of Cheektowga Police Department’s pistol range room. These individuals laid the foundation for the soon to be chartered Town of Cheektowaga Employee’s Federal Credit Union. Among the members who attended and cooperated in the formation of the credit union were David J. Kulik, Joanne Imiola, Robert Lis, Gary Wolinski and Sylvia Slawiak.

Each person present pledged to invest at least one share ($20.00) to establish the new organization. The prime objective of this group was to create within the employees of the town an organization through which members could save money which in turn could be loaned to other members for provident purposes.

On November 13th 1980 a charter was granted to this group and they became known as the Town of Cheektowaga Employee’s Federal Credit Union. The board of directors at this time consisted of the following members; Robert M. Lis, President; Mary Gawron, Vice President; James Matecki, Vice President; Sylvia Slawiak, Secretary; David Kulik, Treasurer. On March 2, 1981 the Cheektowaga Town Board approved a measure to allow payroll deductions from the town’s payroll.

Since our birth in 1980 we have come a long way. Our first office was established on the Town of Cheektowaga campus, at 1 Credit Union Drive, on July 17th 1984. We then moved to the credit union trailer on May 26th, 1988 and continued to expand our service offerings. At present we are in our permanent home which was opened on December 13th, 2004. The word “employee’s” was removed from our name and our charter now is Town of Cheektowaga Federal Credit Union. The Credit Union office was made possible with the 43 years of effort and loyalty from all of our share holders. That membership now consists of over 1500 members and assets of over 35 million dollars. Through your faithful and continuous efforts our future can only become better than it is today.

Field of Membership

Membership to the Town of Cheektowaga FCU is open to the following groups of individuals:

  • Employees and elected / appointed officials of the Town of Cheektowaga
  • Employees and elected / appointed officials of the Village of Depew
  • Employees and elected / appointed officials of the Village of Sloan
  • Employees of A.G. Roehrig & Son
  • Members of Forks Fire District #3
  • Members of Cleveland Hill Fire Department No. 6
  • Members of Hy-View Fire Company in the Town of Cheektowaga
  • Members of Bellevue Volunteer Fire Department
  • Members of Doyle Hose Company No.1
  • Members of U-Crest Fire Company, Inc. District No. 4
  • Members of Pvt. Leonard Post, Jr. Post No.6251 Veterans of Foreign Wars
  • Members of Francis J. Donovan Post # 1626
  • Members of Cheektowaga Historical Association

Also included are spouses of persons who died within the field of membership of this credit union, employees of this credit union, persons retired as pensioners or annuitants from the above employment, members of their immediate family* or household, organizations of such persons, and corporate or other legal entities.

* Immediate Family is defined as spouse, child, sibling, parent, grandparent, or grandchild. This includes stepparents, stepchildren, stepsiblings, and adoptive relationships.

Volunteers and Staff

Board of Directors
Scott Pilat President
Shelly Gordon First Vice President
Jon Nichy Second Vice President
David J. Kulik Treasurer
James Starr Secretary
Supervisory Committee
Christopher Geelan Chairman
Russel Paul
Thomas Przybylak
Kathleen Brzyski
Keith Schottman
Rick Roll CEO
Joyce Kandefer Manager
Kelli Polakiewicz Assistant Manager
Ann Katashuk Head Teller
Lynn Kaznowski Teller
Kate Roll Teller
Savannah Shanahan Teller

How to Join

To become a member of the Town of Cheektowaga FCU, one must belong to aforementioned field of membership, an application for membership must be completed, and a minimum (savings) share deposit of $20.00.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to call the Credit Union Office staff at
686-3497. The Credit Union business hours are Monday through Friday 8:00am to 4:00pm.

We look forward to assisting you and meeting your financial needs!

Important Information

To help the government fight the funding of terrorism and money laundering activities, Federal law requires all financial institutions to obtain, verify, and record information that identifies each person who opens an account.

What this means for you:

When you open an account, we will ask for your name, address, date of birth, and other information that will allow us to identify you. We may also ask to see your driver’s license or other identifying documents.